Book Review: THE HUNGER GAMES TRILOGY

I first heard of this book through a good friend of mine, so as soon as I hit the mall, I went to Fully Booked and purchase this book, it was like a year ago. Haha! –I know! Apparently, another friend of mine suggested me another book which made Hunger Games pending on my shelf. As soon as I heard it will turn into a movie, I came to read this novel again and finished the three (3) books in a week! My mom always pleading me every night to sleep early but I was kinda addicted to it that I CAN’T STOP!

Published in September 14, 2008 by Suzanne Collins, Hunger Games made a great impact all over the world.
The story begins on the day of the reaping when Katniss Everdeen volunteer to took the place of her younger sister, Primrose Everdeen to represent District 12 to play the Hunger Games along with Peeta Mellark. During the reaping two tributes are drawn -one boy and one girl –in each of the 12 districts, the tributes are sent to the arena to fight one another until one tribute remains alive. The winner of the Hunger Games also known as “victor” gets to return home with the title and gift –namely food.

When Katniss and Peeta won the game, they thought their life will be back to normal not knowing that this is just the beginning of the REAL HUNGER GAMES that involves not just both of them but including their family, friends and the whole District 12.

The book is about family and democracy. At first, I thought it’s about fighting for love like some books available in the market. But this book emphasized the importance of family, freedom, and humanity from the manipulation and wrong doings of the government. How Katniss fight not just for her freedom but for everyone who had been deceived by the government at any cost.

Hunger Games is a must read book not just for teens but for all those people who understand the importance of life, sacrifice and family. It’s not an ordinary book to read and it has a unique story that will make you cry and realize how important humanity is to each and every life.

7 comments

  1. I have watched the movie and can’t wait to watch part 2!

    xoxo
    MrsMartinez

    1. yeaaaah! i’m so excited to finally watch Catching Fire. Have you read the book, though? 🙂

  2. I haven’t watched the movie yet nor read the books. But I’m reading their reviews. Hehe.

    1. aww. why?..

  3. THG trilogy is absolutely a page-turner!:) The story is very imaginative but I hope it will not happen in the future because the game is way too ruthless!

    1. True. I can read it over and over again. Story is amazing. what book are you into now?..

  4. Excellent weblog here! Also your website so much up fast!
    What web host are you using? Can I am getting your
    affiliate hyperlink to your host? I want my site loaded
    up as fast as yours lol

Leave a Reply

